In search of

The unknown around the corner beckons
You might get hurt, the mind reckons
But here I stand, on the verge of crossing the line
Restless to uncover the grand design

Like a powerless cloud, I am blown away
Winds of change have a habit of setting their own way
Try to gather every cloud in sight
Ready to rain when the time is right

The voices from behind, implore me to step back
The route is doomed, conveniently claims every Jack
But how do they know the road they haven’t walked on
The ideas they inherited but haven’t thought upon

I cross the line into the expecting uncharted territory
Making it a part of me, unperturbed by disapproving history
No wayside travelers to impart wisdom or guide
First stretches are lit by prayers in whom I confide

We built a wall around it which grows more opaque every year
Made all the efforts to banish the place, which we all should fear
But only when I took a step inside
I realized it’s boundless, limited only from the other side

Even as I go deeper and deeper
The gate remains as near to me as ever
Ready to take me back into the fold
Back to the reassuring safety of the old

But while the keepers were busy protecting the gate
The walls had grown legs of flesh, ready to challenge their own fate
They moved bare footed, left their maiden trail
Followed the harbinger, in search of holy grail

– Ishan ‘tarang’

(This is part 1 of the idea. Other part is kinda fuzzy at the moment!)

About tarang

Business and technology journalist, geek, star gazer, foodie and loves trying out new music. And yes…loves beaches! Find me on Twitter @ishan_srivastav This blog started out as a place where I wanted to put down my thoughts on events happening in my life and sometimes, the world! But over time, it has served me well as my diary where I write my little poems…one of my favorite hobbies. I hope one of these will strike a chord with you. Feedback is always welcome. Thanks for reading! Listen to Mustn’ts, child, listen to the Don’ts. Listen to the Shouldn’ts, the Impossibles, the Won’ts. Listen to the Never Haves, then listen close to me. Anything can happen, child, Anything can be. - Shel Silverstein

One response to “In search of

  1. cantordust

    Lovely 🙂

Leave a comment

Pages